February is Going to Be F*cking Fantastic

My friend Ben and I have decided “Will Power” challenges suck.*

I’m turning 30 in 6 days. I’ve decided to challenge myself in a different way, starting with February.
Every day I read twitter. I enjoy social media with strangers far more than I ever did when I was on Facebook. One stranger who inspires me is Lisa Bonchek Adams (@AdamsLisa) Every morning I wake up to this tweet:

For those of you who don’t know, she is in treatment for metastatic breast cancer. You can read more about her on her website. Her daily tweet is a wonderful reminder that we are responsible for the beauty in our lives. Every day I tell myself I’m going to heed her advice.

So far…I haven’t done so well.

I’ve decided to challenge myself to find a bit of beauty,  or create some, every day in February. I encourage you to join me on Instagram. Please use the hashtag #dailybeauty and tell your friends to join you. Let’s encourage and inspire each other to focus on the beauty. Hopefully, it will overwhelm the ugly, in whatever way that is being manifested in our lives.

I am also going to send “a month of letters“. Would you like to receive a letter? Text me your mailing address, or email me at rinniekirk at gmail dot com.

Lastly, I’ll be enjoying my meals. I read this piece by Gluten Free Girl. It really hit home with me. She asks one of her friends why she loses weight when she is on vacation. This is something I experience as well. It seems odd because I don’t restrict myself on vacation. The answer is basically because we “Enjoy the hell out of our food.” when we’re on vacation.

I’m going to do that more this month. It’s not measurable.** Yet, I still feel it is a very important goal.

Hopefully, it will become who I am. “The woman who enjoys the hell out of her food.”

There are worse things to be known as.

*I’m pretty sure that’s where he stands. It’s possible that the last time we discussed this he was drunk.
**Theoretically, it’s measurable on a scale which, I’m ignoring.
Leave a Reply

