Dear Haters of the Ebook, I owe you an apology!

*Welcome new readers. This blog entry isn’t particularly funny. If you get bored, there are a few gems in the right hand column under Marriage is Fun that are more silly and less business like. Enjoy!

I love audio books! As much as I am on the go, I can get through more books in general that way. I also DELIGHT in my Kindle because for some reason, I can devour books much faster than regular printed books. I have heard the arguments for “real books” time and time again about how a “real book” feels in your hand. I guess I’m just not that tactile of a person. I prefer my e-reader and feel like those who don’t use one haven’t given it the proper chance.

Today….I had an epiphany. I’m currently listening to Aisha Tyler read her book Self Inflicted Wounds. I was just through half the first chapter when I realized how amazingly quotable this book is. This book is GOLD. Hearing her read the words herself is fantastic, but I really want to highlight. You can bookmark and make notes on the Audible app and on your e-reader but it’s not the same or as easy as a “real book”. I finally realized the value of actual, physical books.

I will be looking for an independent book store that has this book, so that I can purchase it. And then highlight the crap out of it!

In other news the challenge is going well. You’ll be interested to know that I’ve added stuff. Let’s review shall we:

~Take My Vitamins
~15 Minutes of Exercise
~Weight Lift Twice a Week
~1600/2200 Calories
~Limit of 2 Alcoholic Beverages Per Week
~Read For an Hour
~Take and Instaphoto
~Blog
~Drink a Quart of Water First Thing in the Morning
~Try Not to Pee Myself (Just kidding…well..kinda kidding, a quart seems like a lot)
~Drink a Smoothie (These smoothies have specific nutrients I’m trying to get into my body)
~Eat a Big Green Salad
~Eat one Dark Leafy Vegetable (that is not in my smoothie)
~Drink Green Juice

Those additions are added to my daily checklist. I found out a few days ago that I’ve been eating ALL THE WRONG THINGS and pretty much everything I eat exacerbates my Endometriosis. I will be adding those things and cutting out most dairy as well as limiting red meat and pork products. You know, basically everything I love has to go.
If it makes me feel better and improves my situation, it will be worth it. It is going to take even more planning though.

This blog post sucks.

Sorry!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aprilmilam
    Oct 25, 2013 @ 06:14:35

    This blog post does not suck. Epiphanies are awesome little aha moments. If this was a book, and you were the main character, this feels like the turning point in which the protagonist has discovered something exciting that she will now act on. It’s that moment of turning information into energy. Pretty cool if you ask me.

    Reply

  2. diannec1945
    Oct 25, 2013 @ 08:35:00

    I agree with April (and say, HI April!)….. I was SO excited to see you learn something to help your health… we will be here to give you encouragement to change a life long diet.

    Reply

    • rinnieeats
      Oct 26, 2013 @ 09:26:54

      Thanks Dianne! I’m pretty sure when I said the blog sucked it was really how I was feeling about the situation. I’m realizing now that it will ultimately be a good decision. You and April helped me realize that.

      Reply

  3. Mary Stein
    Oct 25, 2013 @ 15:33:00

    When you are finished with your audio book can I borrow it? It was not a bad blog by the way. Give yourself some credit. See you Sunday.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Reply

    • rinnieeats
      Oct 26, 2013 @ 09:24:40

      Thanks Mary. We can try and figure out a way for you to borrow the audio book. I think I just have to give you access to my audible account. In fact I think you can start using it while I”m still listening to it. We’ll talk Sunday.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

