It Doesn’t Have to Be Drudgery

Because we traveled to Indy for the weekend, I knew my challenge would be…well…challenging. Whenever we’re with Cary’s parents, we go out to eat. This weekend was no different. I was so worried that I would have a difficult time with my calories and I didn’t want to be a party-pooper. I decided that instead of beating myself up all weekend, I would just do my best with the situation and enjoy. I did a pretty fantastic job, if I do say so myself.

We went to a place last night called BJ’s Brewhouse. These people KNOW how to take care of gluten free guests. I started out with Gluten Free Broccoli Cheese soup which almost always has flour in it because it’s used to thicken it up. Cheese makes things thick, people! Then I ordered Balsamic Glazed Chicken with White Cheddar Mashed Potatoes.

I know it looks like Ice Cream and Chocolate Sauce but it's not

I know it looks like Ice Cream and Chocolate Sauce but it’s not

They had a really delicious gluten free Berry Blast Cider on tap that was delightfully dry. I ordered one and then changed my mind. I had already had my 2 cocktails for the week and once it arrived, I couldn’t seem to enjoy it. I know you’re supposed to enjoy cheating (or something) but I don’t.

The most amazing treat was served to me for dessert

It's called a Pizzookie and it's heavenly!

It’s called a Pizzookie and it’s heavenly!

That’s a terrible picture but I was in a hurry to eat it. It’s a gluten free chocolate chip cookie baked in a small pizza pan so it’s nice and thick, then topped with vanilla ice cream. My parents used to make this kind of a dessert when I was little. What a treat to be able to have it now!

This face doesn't begin to describe the bliss.

This face doesn’t begin to describe the bliss.

 

This one does show how protective I was of my dessert.

This one does show how protective I was of my dessert.

I did go slightly over my calorie count. It was worth it and I took half of my soup and half of my entree home. I really did quite well considering we went out to eat for all 3 meals yesterday.

But, before all of this I was able to hang with my life long best friend who lives in Indy while my family grabbed lunch together.

jackie&me

We spent a few hours  at Starbucks catching up on life. Time flew by far too quickly and she had to get back to her adorable children waiting for her at home.
I cried on the way back to my in-laws.
Time, in general, flies by too quickly. Indianapolis isn’t that far away and yet I hadn’t seen her since February. Is my life really that busy? Part of me thinks it is. We had tried to get together a few times and it just didn’t work out, but am I really putting forth enough of an effort? How hard would it be to get down to Indy, once a month or even once a quarter?
She is good for my soul. She understands me in a way that other people don’t.

 

montesori

I’m on the top right and Jaclyn is the brunette next to me. Click to enlarge and see my goofy face!

It’s a friendship of 26 years. Not many people have that with people who are not their siblings.
If you have a dear friend like mine, cherish them.
If they live near by, go hug them. If they don’t, give them a call or send a text.
They are far more valuable than gold!

 

Leave a Reply

