RAOK aren’t even part of this challenge

Day one went pretty well! I decided the best way to remember everything is to write it down, daily in my Moleskine.

This is a Moleskine and everyone should have one

This is a Moleskine and everyone should have one

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I started my day with an hour of yoga. I used to hate yoga. Because I was a dancer growing up, yoga always made me more anxious and less relaxed. I was constantly thinking “Am I doing it right? My foot isn’t in the right position. CRAP! I’m not breathing!” I decided to give it another try and for some reason, this time, it’s delightful! I’m enjoying it every time I go.

The only thing I messed up on today was the picture posted on Instagram. I had planned to take a picture of me and my friends at the bar after we went to the haunted house. We were having such a good time that before I knew it, it was 1 in the morning and I still had to drive 45 minutes back home. I didn’t even realize I needed a picture until I was driving. I took this one

It ain't a pretty picture, but it was full of joy.

It ain’t a pretty picture, but it was full of joy.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It still counts as something positive in my day. Whenever you stay in one place for 3 hours and don’t realize 3 hours have passed, it’s a great time!

I stopped to get gas on my way to the haunted house and after I had filled my tank a woman at the pump next to me said “Excuse me, could you help us out with a few dollars for gas? I just realized I left my purse at home.” Immediately I checked my wallet, but only had a dollar, which obviously won’t even get you a gallon. “I’ll go in and put $5 on your pump.” I told the woman, who repaid me with many thanks.

She left before me and I was feeling pretty good. I mean, RAOK (random acts of kindness) aren’t even part of my challenge and yet, I’m CRUSHING IT!

As I’m driving down the 2 lane highway to my destination I notice that the truck in front of me passed a car that seemed to be going quite slow. I wasn’t in a hurry so I thought nothing of it, until I caught up with the slow car, that was going about 49 in a 55 mph zone. I was trying to be patient, again I was not in a hurry. But, then they started weaving and I became frustrated. I was in a no pass zone, they’re going well under the speed limit and weaving.

Weaving typically means one of 3 things:
1) You’re drunk
2) You’re texting
3) You’re drunk texting

This time, it was none of the 3.

When I finally hit an area on the highway where I was able to pass,  I slowed down when I was right next to the car to see what was happening. Turns out the 4 people in the car were passing a joint. If you’ve never smoked pot, you probably aren’t aware but… The effects of marijuana can make everything seem like it’s going very fast when in fact you’re going FORTY NINE IN A FIFTY FIVE MILE PER HOUR ZONE!

The best part was….

It was the woman I helped out with the gas money.

A million thoughts ran through my mind:
Did she plan to ask a stranger for gas money in hopes that she would get enough to travel approximately 20 miles away?
Does she know she’s weaving all over the road?
Are those her kids?

The only thing that did not enter my mind, was regret. I don’t regret helping her with that gas money. What if I hadn’t given her help and she needed to get to her sick grandmother (to steal her glaucoma medicine)? What if she had really forgotten her purse at home and home is actually 20 miles away?

The point is, I’ve been there when I didn’t have the money to pay for gas because I left my debit card in the back pocket of the jeans I had been wearing the day before. You know what happened? Strangers stepped up and helped me out. I will continue to do the same.

Hopefully next time it won’t be a pot smoking, slow driving woman, contributing to the delinquency of a minor.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jackie Moore
    Oct 13, 2013 @ 19:03:18

    Ha! Laughed out loud reading this post. Love it my friend you have a gift for writing, keep it up! We are not responsible for peoples responses, we are responsible for loving them.

    Reply

  2. diannec1945
    Oct 13, 2013 @ 22:50:28

    Indeed it is a good response! I am stealing: We are not responsible for peoples’ responses, we are responsible for loving them” – perfect for the naysayers remarking about our church’s food pantry, clothes pantry and community meal.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

