Let the Games Begin

The other day I came across something I had written in a note on my phone back in February:

Wednesday night I went on a date with my husband to Maggiano’s.
We had a lovely time. One of those nights when you have a TON to talk about
over wine and gluten free pasta. Cary had to be out of town for a work
function so I went with him to take advantage of a free hotel stay.
 
We got back to the hotel, I went into the bathroom to take a bath while
Cary got started on homework. He’s so close to graduating he can
taste it! While lying in the bathtub, I noticed my stomach looked
slightly bloated, probably due to the gluten free Alfredo. When I got
out of the tub, I stood before the equivalent of dressing room mirrors
sans the flattering lighting and realized “SHIT, I’m fat again!”
I’ve been eating more, & working out less. It has ultimately caught up with
me. I’ve struggled for awhile with my need to get more workouts in, but
even when I started the last Biggest loser competition I didn’t feel fat
anymore.
Just…pudgy.
Last night was the first time that I can even
remember, looking in the mirror and actually wanting to cry. I walked
out of the bathroom stated to Cary “I’m fat again” then fell into bed
and promptly into depression. Not the chemical kind that I can’t
change. The other kind. The semi-unreasonable but totally
understandable, I-don’t-like-the-way-I-look-depression. I must’ve
looked huffy because Cary probably told me he loved me 15 times in an
hour. In fact, I was so depressed I began to doze while he continued
to work on his homework. I would wake a bit and roll over to him
saying “I love you”. Finally I joked. “You love me, even though I’m
fat again”
He responded “I love you even though you have a poor body image right now”
He gets me.

In the light of day I can reflect a bit. I wasn’t being totally
unreasonable, but I have work to do. Today I can focus more on wanting
to be strong for Tough Mudder instead of wanting to be “thin” , whatever
that even means. It typically means I just want to feel and look good
in my clothes. Unfortunately when you get me naked, in bad lighting
and giant mirrors, all I can think of is how much I want to look like
I did in high school.  Let’s face it, that’s probably not going to
happen, and that’s OK because I’m not 16. Looking like a 16 year old when

you’re 29 is just creepy.
 

It is somewhat fortuitous that I found that note. Saturday, I caught myself looking at some pictures that were taken of me and thinking those same thoughts.

My work schedule has changed again and I’m getting used to my new routine. In turn, my workouts have completely gone by the wayside. My eating habits are just weird and my single friends are helping me to ingest most of my calories in liquid form.

It’s time for a change!  My friend Ben has had a lot of success with his Will Power Challenges. I’ll be doing something similar for the next 25 days. I won’t be crowd sourcing for suggestions. I know what needs to be done and I want to look and feel great before I head to Las Vegas in November.

Here goes nothing:

Countdown to Vegas Challenge October11th-November 5th

~Take your vitamins
I have been trying to remember to do this for years. It seems so simple, but I throw them up if I don’t take them with a meal.

~Move, intentionally for at least 15 minutes every day
15 minutes is not that long. This should not be hard, but I’m sure it will be.

~Lift weights 2 days a week
Normally, I try to lift 3 times a week. I’m going to knock it down to 2 in an effort to give myself a bit of a break, considering I’m still getting used to my schedule.  If I have time for 3, great.

~1600 Calories on non lifting days, up to 2200 Calories when I do lift
This is a reasonable amount to eat and still see a change. It also makes me feel good enough to not want to kill someone.

~Only 2 alcoholic beverages per week
We recently gained a social life. Mostly thanks to our single friends because they don’t have children or an 8:30 bed time. The alcohol consumption has increased significantly. With my calorie requirements and the need to workout (the desire isn’t there yet) it’s best if I limit myself without completely going teetotal.

~Read for 1 hour every day
I love reading. It’s October and I’m truly enjoying my horror fiction. I want to make it a priority.

~Post one photo, every day on Instagram to #lookforthelight
One of the bloggers I read suggested we look for the light in our day, every day and take a picture of it. It’s a good way to keep me happy and motivated.

~Blog something, every day of the challenge
I’ve tried getting on board with this kind of challenge and feel like I quit because I wasn’t held accountable. I know of a few people who check this blog or have it delivered to their e-mail when I post. If I know those people are reading, I’m more likely to stick with it.

I will also be posting my weight every Sunday. Since I’m starting on a Friday and ending on a Tuesday, Sunday makes the most sense. I think I’ll post a progress photo as well.

WHY NOT?

I’ve shared my goals, do you have any goals that you want to tackle right now? No sense in waiting until Monday! Do it now!

 

 
4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. diannec1945
    Oct 11, 2013 @ 06:49:32

    I whole heartedly support your challenge! You GO, Girl… Ben is such an inspiration! Looking forward to your blogs….

    Reply

  2. aprilmilam
    Oct 11, 2013 @ 07:47:16

    Work it, girl!

    I started taking my workouts seriously this summer. To help motivate me, I wrote down the reasons I was doing this and put it somewhere I can see it daily. My goal is to make fitness a lifestyle, one step at a time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

