Random Acts of Kindness are my anti-drug

Remember that campaign? Am I the only one?

Hang on let me consult Google Images

Oh this one is fitting!

sarcasm_my_anti_drug_bumpersticker-p12825518624481593483h9_325

 

 

 

Ok, maybe that’s more my anti-drug than ROAKs but I have a new kindled love for being kind to people in unexpected ways. So I’ve decided that instead of a New Year’s resolution, I’m giving myself a challenge.

A big one.

In 2013 I’m going to accomplish, 365 Random Acts of Kindness. I’m really excited about it but haven’t handled all the details yet, so stay tuned!

Today’s Elf4Health challenge is to look in the mirror and name 3 things you love about yourself. I snapped this picture of myself

2012-12-26 16.18.43And said the following on Instagram:

Three things I love when I look in the mirror: my smile, my blue eyes, my bright red hair.
Three things I love about me that you can’t see: my heart for people, my ability to find fun in the every day minutiae of life, my sentimentality (particularly around this time of year)

 

 

 

 

It’s awkward to talk about things you like about yourself. I think we immediately feel like we are bragging but it’s important to know the good in yourself considering society prefers to point out the bad.

Because I know it’s difficult, I’ve decided to pick 5 people in my life and name 3 things I love about them. I’m not using last names, but you know who you are.

Dianne-your open mind about controversial subjects, your gentle wisdom that you unknowingly share, your generous spirit

Nate-your ability to make people feel like they’re being heard, your willingness to be transparent, your sense of humor in a variety of settings.

Ali-the way you instantly make people feel like they matter, your enthusiasm for your job, your courage to try new things

Jim-your enthusiasm to change your life, your passion for your family, your desire to serve those in need

Greg(though you probably don’t read my blog)-the way you help a friend or family member with only a moment’s notice, your ability to shoot people straight without coming of as a giant jerk, how much you LOVE your wife and daughters
We need to be more encouraging and tell each other about what’s good in them. It’s hard to receive praise, but it’s easy to give it out.

Tell someone how amazing they are today!

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. willpowerthru
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 19:10:56

    Love it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

