I’m like a new woman, sort of…but not really

Yesterday was day one of the Elf for Health challenge and I knocked it out of the park!

Meatless Monday is something I have heard about for years but never cared to participate in. I like meat, it’s easy to get my 100grams of protein with meat, and honestly, militant vegetarians scare me. However, I managed to stay meatless and within my calorie goals as well as consume 97grams of protein. I even lifted weights at 8:30pm! As much as I would like to think it was the lack of meat that gave me all that energy, I’m pretty sure it was the 3pm coffee. Which will now become my daily routine instead of my morning coffee.

I realized something half way through the day. When you have a larger audience watching to see what you’re doing, you follow through. Because I was using the #elf4health hash tag, people were reading my texts and encouraging me throughout the day. Strangers were applauding my efforts. That is huge! I now understand why people become “health ambassadors” it keeps you accountable.

Today’s challenge was to send a hand written note to a friend or family member. The art of the written note is most under appreciated. It’s something I have wanted to practice more often. I sent out a total of 5 notes today. One of them was quite difficult.

My brother has been incarcerated at the Indiana State Prison since sometime last year. Prior to that he was in LaPorte County jail for about 3 years. During that time I went to visit him a whopping 3 times. He sent me a letter this week, which was really one giant guilt trip (that I truly deserved) and a visitation form. Today, I decided that I would respond, and fill out that visitation form, in hopes that I will be able to go see him around Christmas. It’s really hard to explain why it has taken me so long to take this step, I’m not sure I fully understand it myself. I do know, regardless of his mistakes and heinous crime, I love my brother.

If not for this incredibly exciting challenge, I don’t know how long it would have taken me to sit down and write that letter.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristen
    Nov 27, 2012 @ 23:20:44

    Good for you! 😉
    Also…running is much easier without the meat as well!

    Reply

  2. Kat
    Nov 27, 2012 @ 23:44:32

    Look at you rocking this challenge!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

