Grateful for so many things!

I missed my Thankful Thursday post last week, due to some controversy. So I’ve decided to catch up and reflect on all my blessings, the day before Thanksgiving.
I’m thankful for:

9) for the work being done by the church I attend. As I type, they’re having their 2nd annual Thanksgiving dinner sponsored by the State Street Community Food Pantry. They’ve had 150 people in the first 40minutes. Incredible!

10) for the ability to eat safely during the holidays. I’ll be making gluten free stuffing, scalloped pineapple and my sweet sister-in-law has made me a gluten free pumpkin roll.  On top of that, my mother-in-law and other sister-in-law are attempting to make the dishes they’re bringing gluten free as well. When people feed me safely, it makes me feel so loved!

11) for my Ohio family that I won’t be seeing this Thanksgiving. I might even get a little weepy tomorrow, missing them.

12) for my late night assignment last night. I have to be vague, but I had a wonderful experience with the patient I was working with. I have the coolest job in the world!

13) for my book club. We’re currently reading N.T. Wright’s book Surprised by Hope and it is really interesting and challenging. Our group is very dynamic and I always come away with more questions than before.

14) for new life. My nephew had a daughter earlier this year, my niece just had her second child, a boy, this morning. I can’t wait to meet both of them.

15) for my brother in prison. It’s honestly the best place for him, he even has a therapist there! I received a letter from him today asking me to come visit. He wants me to visit once a month and I think that is doable. It will be good to rebuild a relationship with him.

16) for my brother who is not in prison. As I have gotten older, I have really come to appreciate him more than ever. Because he and I are so far apart in age (by the time I was born he was pretty much grown) we weren’t close like regular siblings. I really enjoy being with him and if my mom were still here, I think she would be delighted by that.

17) for my younger nieces and nephews (Cary’s sisters’ kids) I have to specify because I have A LOT of nieces and nephews! I get to see all four of them this week!

18) for my mother-in-law and father-in-law. They have given us so much support over the years. Recently there was an explosion in Indy in their neighborhood and I am so thankful they weren’t harmed!

19) for family recipes that my mom passed down to me. It’s faint but you can see her name under next to the By line. I always loved her handwriting. So loopy and feminine.

20) for Black Wednesday! We’re going to listen to some really good music, eat some really good food, and kick off this holiday weekend right!

21) for my husband decorating our giant tree in the middle of November and staying happy and positive while doing it!

This shows how giant the tree is, in comparison to me. It really is a dream come true to look at this every day during the holidays!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kristen
    Nov 25, 2012 @ 17:22:20

    I noticed you have adds at the bottom… This one is for wal-mart. Wierd!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

