If this were Survivor, the medics would be called and he would be pulled from the game!

In the last few months I have done a terrible job taking care of myself.

I work long hours, I’m not eating as well as I should, exercise is the last priority on my list.  I pretty much work and sleep.

I’ve been getting better about it. In fact, last week, I had a dentist appointment and a massage. You’re probably thinking a dentist appointment doesn’t sound delightful but I haven’t been to the dentist in years. Dental health is paramount to your overall heath. I consider it a part of my self-care. (We won’t talk about how much work I’ll have to have done) I’ve given in to the idea that when you work as much as I do, a monthly massage is mandatory.

I now have no choice but to take better care of myself and let go of my workaholism.

Cary is sick. He never gets sick and it now appears he not only has Shingles but is fighting another virus on top of that. He’s probably going to have to file FMLA. This means I can not wear myself out.

These are the times when I realize how much of a team he and I really are.  He has a severe lack of energy, he is only comfortable propped up on pillows in bed or sitting at a desk chair, which makes it hard for him to rest. Not even laying on the couch is comfortable. The household chores are pretty much up to me for awhile and even though I know I do a lot around her, so does he! He isn’t used to being waited on because I’m the one that’s high maintenance in the sicky department!
He actually said to me today “What if I never get better and it’s always like this?” It might sound dramatic but I get it. I’ve been sick enough that it feels like it will never end. Bottom line: this is that whole “in sickness and in health” part. Serving him makes me happy because I love him.

I’m feeling tired after a long, hectic weekend and I feel borderline flu-ish. I’m hoping it’s nothing a little sleep and green tea can’t fix.

This has made me once again, realize that my self-care needs to be a priority. I’m working on it. I’m going to get my butt to the gym three days this week, I’m going to eat less convenience foods and I’m going to love on my husband as much as I can. Not like that you dirt bag! Get your mind out of the gutter!!

Ok….maybe a little like that.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Cheryl
    Nov 04, 2012 @ 19:44:35

    Good for you! Sometimes you need a reminder of how life is really is! Now, cut down those “extra” jobs and enjoy life including gym and *ahem* dentist appointments!! Haha.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

