Failing Spectacularly

Many years ago. I was a college kid trying to do something. I don’t remember what it was. It was well within my reach, but I was scared. My memory is usually like a sponge so I’m not sure why I can’t remember. I think it’s because it didn’t matter what it was. The important part was what Cary said to me about it.

“Make a giant goal. Go for it, and if you have to, fail spectacularly!”

He’s wise, that man of mine.

So that’s what happened with the August challenge. I didn’t just fail, I failed spectacularly! When I started making the list for the challenge I got a bit crazy. All my goals were well meaning, but I didn’t really take life into consideration. In the month of August I will have worked 148.5 hours which is an average of 38 hours per week. That’s SO MUCH for an interpreter. I know you all think I just wave my hands around, but trust me, it’s more than that. Plus those 38 hours don’t include the time it takes to schlep all over Chicagoland to get to my assignments. Bottom line, I was busy and didn’t plan that challenge to mesh with busyness.

There were times when I would think, “If you don’t go work out, you have to tell everyone reading that you didn’t go. That you failed.” This thought didn’t motivate me at all. That’s how tired I was. Sometimes I would even think, “Ryan is taking steps to QUIT SMOKING! And you can’t get your ass off the couch to do a 30 minute stretching routine?” My response was usually something along the lines of “Good for him, I’m freaking EXHAUSTED and going to bed.”

I am surprisingly OK with my failure. Mostly, because I have the ability to change. I can adapt to my hectic schedule, now that I know what to expect. I have to. I have to train for Tough Mudder! 

September is looking just as jammed if not more-so. I will fit in my work outs, I will make time for friends. Which by the way, is the one goal I did not fail with! I LOVE my friend dates and will continue to do that every week. I’ll continue to make crazy goals, even at the risk of failing spectacularly!

Leave a Reply

