My venture into stunt journalism

There’s just something exciting about doing something for a specific period of time.

Whether it’s taking a year to cook through 524 recipes, following the bible as closely as possible in your everyday living, or going on 50 friend dates.

A year is a LONG TIME, which is why I’ve decided to do a challenge for a month and see how I fare.

So for the month of August, here’s the breakdown:

~Everyday in August I’ll be sending one fun text message or e-mail in an effort to make someone smile. Interested? E-mail me.

~I’ll be going on 1 friend date a week. So if you’re reading this and thinking “We haven’t gotten together in awhile” pull out your calendar and e-mail me a date. I’m willing to travel.

~Take one picture a day and print them all at the end of the month.

~No restaurant meals from our joint meal budget. Cary and I have a specific amount of money we each get every month for “blow money” (This is not money reserved for cocaine..although I guess it could be…) It’s money we don’t have to answer to the other person for. So any food we consume away from each other, comes out of this cash. This month there will be no eating at restaurants unless we decide to use our “own” money. (For some reason I’m having a really hard time explaining this, which  makes me think I need to have a future post dedicated to how we budget)

~Track our spending. I do a pretty good job with this typically but not great. We coordinate Financial Peace University (which you should take! It’s a 9 week course starting Sunday August 5th at 12:30pm) and it’s great motivation to stay on top of our finances.

~Six days a week I will be exercising in some way shape or form for at least 30 minutes. It will probably be a mix of Jazzercise, power lifting, and walking the dogs.

~I’ll be intermittent fasting.  Basically that means I’ll be fasting 14 hours a day and eating my calories during a 10 hour window. I eat 1350 calories on Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays and 2000 calories on Wednesdays, Fridays and Sundays (also known as power lifting days). I’ll be attempting to consume over 100grams of protein per day. I won’t be following my eating window on Wednesdays because I have book club at 6am at a place where I like to eat. I will be sticking to my calorie allotment.

*Note* Before I get a bunch of comments about how it’s “unsafe” or will slow down my metabolism or any other litany of garbage, save it! This is what I’m doing. I’ve researched it, I started doing it, it works for me.

I’m going to attempt to blog everyday, even if it’s just a short list with check marks and my picture for the day.

It will probably look something like this (but more fun I’m sure):

Monday August 1st

Penny is “helping” me grill.

 

~Fun message or e-mail: Sent my crazy busy friend Robin a meme she’ll think is funny. I’m assuming…since she hasn’t responded yet.

~1 Friend date per week: Pending

~One picture per day: See above.

~No restaurant meals from our joint meal budget: I made dinner tonight but just realized something. I think I’ll take the money we were told to spend at Chic-fil-A and donate it to State Street Food Pantry. You can too if you click that link.

~Track our spending: Done for the day

~Exercise at least 30 minutes: Power lifted. I’ve had to back down my lifts because of an injury so it’s mildly embarrassing to post these stats but here goes:

Barbell Squat:
65lbs 5reps (warm-up)
95lbs 5reps 3 sets

Overhead barbell press:
35lb bar 5reps (warm up)
60lb 5reps 3 sets

Deadlift:
95lbs 5 reps (warm up)
120lbs 5reps

~Intermittent Fasting: I followed my eating window. I still have a few hours left and quite a few calories to consume. If anything I might have a hard time eating all 2000 calories. My appetite isn’t great this week.

 

All this info will be at the bottom of my blog posts. I’m excited to share my progress with you all. What can you challenge yourself with this August?

 

 

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. willpowerthru
    Aug 01, 2012 @ 20:03:20

    I think it’s unsafe to….haha juuuuuust kidding…go get em!!!

    Reply

  2. Dianne
    Aug 01, 2012 @ 21:26:15

    Would love a visit… I don’t have your email address, so email or message me, I have an idea about a Wednesday morning.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Day 163 « Unrequited Bob
  4. website design contract
    Jul 18, 2014 @ 02:35:38

    Awesome! Its really remarkable paragraph, I have
    got much clear idea concerning from this post.

    Reply

  5. google advertising costs
    Jul 29, 2014 @ 18:37:10

    What’s up i am kavin, its my first occasion to commenting anywhere, when i read this article i
    thought i could also make comment due to this
    sensible paragraph.

    Reply

  6. Google
    Sep 01, 2014 @ 12:50:34

    Observers maintain the item displays a new coherent approach, one thing thus low in your culture, that it’s not necessarily realised by
    simply all. These pre-computed numbers, hold on in a very giant
    information bank for millions or URLs on the net. * Page SEO:
    Your page is optimized by various means which include, choosing the right keywords,
    placing them right, adding anchor text linking, adding call to action in various places
    on the page.

    Reply

  7. นำทางไปยัง เว็บไซต์นี้
    Sep 10, 2014 @ 05:38:41

    hi สวัสดี , ผมชอบ มาก มาก !
    ร้อยละ จะติดต่อ มาก เกี่ยวกับ ของคุณ บทความ ใน AOL ?

    ฉัน ต้อง ผู้เชี่ยวชาญ เกี่ยวกับเรื่องนี้ พื้นที่ การแก้ไข ปัญหาของฉัน อาจ
    ที่มี คุณ ค้นหา หน้า ดู
    คุณ

    Reply

  8. boom222
    Sep 10, 2014 @ 09:23:29

    ของคุณ วิธีการ ของ บอก ทุกอย่าง ทั้งหมด ใน บทความ
    นี้ วรรค เป็น ในความเป็นจริง
    น่า ทุกคน สามารถ ง่าย รู้ มัน ขอบคุณ มาก.

    Reply

  9. ทดลองเล่น mix8888
    Sep 10, 2014 @ 19:22:58

    ผมอยาก ฉันต้องการ ขอขอบคุณสำหรับการ นี้ ยอดเยี่ยม อ่าน !

    ฉัน แน่นอน ความสุข บิตของ มัน ฉัน บุ๊คมาร์ค ตรวจสอบ ใหม่ สิ่งที่คุณ

    Reply

  10. mix8888
    Sep 10, 2014 @ 19:37:28

    ผมอยาก ขอขอบคุณสำหรับการ นี้
    ที่ยอดเยี่ยม อ่าน !

    ฉัน แน่นอน แน่นอน รัก ทุก บิตของ มัน ฉันมี บุ๊คมาร์ค ตรวจสอบ ใหม่ สิ่งที่คุณ

    Reply

  11. m88
    Jan 17, 2015 @ 08:10:49

    No matter if some one searches for his necessary thing, so he/she wishes to be available that in detail, therefore
    that thing is maintained over here.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

