The Mayo Rant and a Recipe…sort of

After posting a this pic on Facebook yesterday, it brought up an interesting discussion so I figured I would jump on my Mayonnaise soap box.

As a child I couldn’t stand mayo. It just seemed really gross to me. Of course I was always picky and only ate mac and cheese or hot dogs for the first several years of my life. Because of this, I never ate potato salad, or macaroni salad, two things I absolutely LOVE now. I honestly can’t remember at what point I started enjoying a bit of mayo here and there, but it was sometime in high school I’m sure. My mom made THE BEST potato salad and macaroni salad.

I have a book of recipes handed down by my mom and our family.

Neither of these recipes are in the book. They are “throw together” recipes, which I’m pretty sure, is why they’re so good! Both include mayo and my mom was very specific about using Hellmann’s only. The thing I love about them is they make it with like 4 ingredients and it’s fluffy and delicious. The thing I don’t like about it is that it’s made with soybean oil.

I try to avoid soy as much as possible. It increases estrogen production, which is no good for women of child bearing age and under. Not to mention, it’s next to impossible to find non-genetically modified soy beans. I’m sure Hellmann’s isn’t using non-GMO soy.  Although they do use Cage-free eggs so hooray for them!

That being said, I’m not going to stop eating mayo. I’m just not going to eat it every day. I’m not going to eat 7 servings of macaroni salad and 12 servings of potato salad in one day. You see, my mom made those two delights ONCE. A. YEAR. So my dad and I would GORGE ourselves on it. They both take a bit of time and they’re honestly better the next day.  It takes some planing.

So I’ve decided to make it about once a month. I can also feel less guilty because cooled potatoes have a lower glycemic index than hot potatoes. Hooray again!

There are so many of these “bad for you” foods that we don’t necessarily need to abstain from, completely. Sometimes when I’m eating something I love and am having a hard time stopping, I have to remind myself “This is not the last time you’re going to eat this. It’s OK, there will be more.” When something is delicious I often eat like I’m starving instead of savoring it like I should.

I would post the recipes, but the pictures won’t look good and as I said before it’s throw together and hard to describe without you being in my kitchen with me.  So here’s a throw together recipe you can easily recreate, and IT’S PIZZA!!

Pictures are limited.

Gluten-Free Grilled Pizza

Ingredients:

Udi’s Gluten Free Pizza Crust
Peeled Clove of Garlic
About 1/2cup of Tomato Sauce
Sprinkle of Parmesan
Handful of Marinated Artichokes chopped
Handful of Mushrooms (whatever you like, I like baby bellas)
Like 5 Sundried Tomatoes in Oil chopped
Some shredded mozzarella

Take the peeled clove of garlic and rub it all over the front and back of the pizza crust until the clove is almost completely gone. Spray both sides with olive oil. (DON’T USE PAM! Go get a Misto Olive Oil sprayer. It’s worth the $8 you’ll pay at TJ Max)
Now sprinkle garlic salt on both sides as well according to your taste.

OH CRUD!! Did you turn on the grill? You’ll want to turn it on to medium/low heat. The target temp is 350 degrees on a gas grill.

Saute the mushrooms in a hot skillet. You actually don’t need oil or anything. Just throw them in a hot skillet and toss them around every now and then until they release their juices. Then you’re done!

Spread your desired amount of tomato sauce on the crust., then sprinkle with Parmesan cheese. Top with mushrooms, artichokes and sundried tomatoes. It should look something like this:

Oh my goodness, it looks so good you would think I married a guy who worked at a pizza place for 7 years….oh wait…

Sprinkle that beautiful work of art with some more garlic salt. Not a TON, just a little to give it some more flavors. Then top with Mozzarella, as much as you’re comfortable with. I’m comfortable with quite a bit. So mine looks like this:

It’s actually not that much cheese. It’s what I like to call the “normal” amount of cheese. Or the “right” amount of cheese.

Put it on the grill, directly on the grates and close the lid. Set your timer for 10 minutes (assuming your grill is at a stable 350, if not, I’d check it in 5 minutes) When your timer goes off go check the underside of the crust to make sure it’s not getting burnt. If it’s getting dark, you’ll want to put a piece of foil on the grates and then transfer the pizza so it can continue to cook without burning further. Continue to cook the pizza until it has those lovely tan marks on the cheese. That means it’s done and REALLY yummy!

So yummy in fact, I didn’t take a picture of the final product. I let it rest about 5 minutes, cut that bad boy up and devoured half of it. I probably would have eaten the whole thing but Cary insisted on eating some. PFFT!

There’s a very small amount of protein on this pie, so you’ll need to eat it as a snack or an appetizer. It’s not a complete meal. It is however, life changing!

Note: Udi’s Pizza Crusts come in twos. You might as well just make 2 if there are more than 2 people eating. You’ll be sorry if you don’t.

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn
    Jul 24, 2012 @ 22:49:22

    I make mayo… drop a fresh a cage free egg in a blender. Add one or two Tablespoons of fresh squeezed lemon juice. Put the lid on and start the blender on high. Take out the center of the blenders lid and very slowly drizzle in a cup of light olive oil. Sometimes I add a little salt, dry mustard, pepper. There are no preservatives, but this makes a good batch of potato salad with out the soy. I used to use only Hellmanns mayo too. Now because of the soy oil, Greg will not even touch it. Omega 6 oils are what is causing melanoma….not the sun.

    Reply

  2. Kat
    Jul 24, 2012 @ 23:43:10

    I’ve never eaten mayo…ever…it looks weird so I’ve never tried it.
    With that being said…can I come live with you for awhile and you can teach me about what all of these bad foods are? :/ I feel like I am really in the dark about that!!!!

    Reply

  3. rinnieeats
    Jul 25, 2012 @ 08:23:45

    Lynn I’ll have to try it. In the past I haven’t really enjoyed home made mayo except on Sandwiches.
    Kat you are more than welcome to come live here. You probably need the kid break anyway. 😉 I will let you know, knowledge is power, but it makes things WAY more difficult. It’s worth it, but it is more work. If you’re serious about wanting more info, send me a message on FB. I’m more than happy to help where I can!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

