Thankful Thursday

It’s been a difficult day. I decided that instead of freaking out and worrying, I would turn it around and look at the bright side.

So here we go:

I’m thankful for rain! We had an amazing storm last night and yes, it left several people without power. In fact Cary got goofy and made a meme about it.

I’m also thankful for the NIPSCO (our power company) workers who take time, overnight, away from their families, in the dark to get our power back on.  People don’t realize how hard NIPSCO works to make sure people have their power restored. I for one know how hard they work because I would sometimes go days without seeing my dad when he was on standby. It sucks for the families so have a little grace and be thankful that there are people willing to do that thankless job. (sorry that was a little gripey)
I’m thankful for friends with generators. I was on call last night and staying at my friends Mary and Mike’s house. I got to listen to that incredible storm and watch the lightening streak across the sky and not worry about whether I would be without power. This also motivates us to get one ASAP. (And by ASAP I mean after we: finish our kitchen, drywall, pain, and install the washer and drying in the bonus room, replace the carpet in all the bedrooms, redo our main bathroom…..aw crap Geoff is right, it’ll probably be 12 years before we actually get one)

I’m thankful for work cancellations, with or without pay. Today I had a cancellation where I don’t have to go to work, but I still get paid because the cancellation was last minute. I had a cancellation for tomorrow and Saturday where I won’t be paid because they gave adequate notice and that’s a HUGE chunk of change I’m losing. However, my house is a PIT! Because we’ve lost power two nights in a row it’s a mess. So tomorrow, I can clean it. Also, Saturday, I get to celebrate a friend’s pending nuptials with cowboy boots and line dancing. I used to think that was incredibly lame, but now, I’m actually excited! I think it will be a blast!

I’m thankful for the ability to make gluten free things delicious. I recently found a company that makes INCREDIBLE Gluten-free (and vegan) cupcakes. Now I want to start making cupcakes, with fillings, and not insanely sweet frosting. These cupcakes are really fantastic and I’ll write more about it when I can get good pics. Every time I bring one home from Chicago the frosting is flopped carelessly all over the container. Not very pretty, but delicious regardless!

I’m thankful for friends who start crazy 30 day challenges to improve themselves and better their health. Ben had a wild 30 day challenge in June over here. (For those of you unfamiliar with these highlighted underline things, if you click on it, it will take you to a different page, it’s called a link, this sounds really snooty, I’m sorry, I didn’t know how else to put it, that’s a lot of commas) Now my friend Ryan is doing a challenge that’s not quite as extensive, but it will be an uphill battle! You should go here and cheer him on!

Hey look at that! I feel better now!  I might even go do some dishes and cook dinner now! Or maybe I’ll watch last night’s big brother and eat a smushed up gluten free cupcake…..before dinner….because I’m an adult and can do that…..and for that I am also grateful!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Geoffrey P. Ulam
    Jul 19, 2012 @ 17:28:44

    Heck yes! You kick that negative attitude in the face, great post!

    Reply

  2. rmpanos
    Jul 19, 2012 @ 21:36:39

    Thanks for the shout out Erin! I’m gonna need all the support I can get. My lovely wife is going to join me in the smoking cessation portion so that’ll be nice to have that support!!!!

    Reply

    • rinnieeats
      Jul 19, 2012 @ 21:51:06

      That’s awesome that you’re both doing that for your health and think of the MONEY you’ll save!! You should do something fun with it

      Reply

      • rmpanos
        Jul 19, 2012 @ 22:14:10

        I can’t believe how much better I feel just from diet and exercise. I can only imagine what August is going to bring!!!! And yes, that’ll be nice to not spend 2 grand a year in smokes!!!

Leave a Reply

