Marrying him is the best thing I’ve ever done.

We have friends who are engaged and getting married in two weeks. We remember engagement. It was a fun 5 months!

Six years ago, I was smiling so hard my face hurt and I literally couldn’t stop smiling. I was actually trying to frown or relax my mouth and it wouldn’t work. People thought I was drunk and I hadn’t had a drop. I was just so damn happy!

Our first three years of marriage were tough. Not like regular married crap where you’re trying to figure out who this person is that has moved into your house and taken over your closet. No we had actual problems. Two parents battling cancer and then those same two parents dying from cancer.

We laughed through most of it. Because we had to and that’s what my mom taught us to do. Because Abe Lincoln said it best:

We also clung to each other as if our life depended on it, and maybe it did.

The rough part, I believe, was when it was over. All we knew was death and dying and then we had to figure out how to be “us” without that.  It took some time but I think we did a good job. My goodness we love each other!

I remember my dad telling me once “Your mother and I can be in a room full of friends and have a great time, with only each other.” I used to wonder if that were really possible, though watching them I could believe it was true. Dad wasn’t lying, Cary and I experience that on a regular basis. We just love to have fun!

So I’m sure people are sick of it.

I’m tremendously proud of the man I married. I dote on him publicly on a regular basis. I do this on purpose, it’s his love language. Doting. (Bet you didn’t know doting is a love language)

I can’t believe it’s been 6 years. In some ways it seems short, but mostly I just can’t remember what life was like without him. I think it’s possible that I don’t want to remember because marrying him was the best thing I ever did.

We don’t typically do anything spectacular for our anniversary. We feel that we celebrate each other on a pretty regular basis. Yesterday to celebrate, we went to Lake Michigan and had a paddle boarding adventure. It was such a wonderful time with dear friends, in fact it was spectacular. We didn’t get a whole lot of up close shots. This one however, pretty much says it all.

There’s no place I’d rather be. There’s no life I’d rather live.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 21:27:12

    🙂

    Reply

  2. Kat
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 21:27:37

    Happy Anniversary!!! You guts are one of the cutest couples I know!!!!

    Reply

  3. Melissa Pearce
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 21:38:55

    Happy Anniversary Erin and Cary!

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Day 147 « Unrequited Bob
  5. willpowerthru
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 23:27:35

    That picture is fantastic.

    Reply

  6. ballstep2
    Sep 12, 2014 @ 01:50:33

    สิ่งที่ เกิดขึ้น Happening ฉัน
    ใหม่ นี้ ฉัน stumbled เมื่อ นี้ ฉันได้ พบ ค้นพบ มัน ในทางบวก อย่าง
    เป็นประโยชน์ และจะได้ ช่วย โหลด ช่วย ฉันออก ฉันหวังว่า & ช่วยเหลือ อื่น ๆ ผู้ใช้ เหมือน ฉัน ได้รับความช่วยเหลือ ดี .

    Reply

Leave a Reply

