Mom would be so proud…

Today is Memorial Day.

My mom served in the military for a bit…so I guess this is appropriate. Or maybe it’s not, either way I don’t really care.

3 years ago today, my mom died after a 3 year battle with cancer.

I forgot it was today until I woke up to a text message from my dear friend Jaclyn. It all came rushing to me at once.

The sorrow.

The anger.

The tears.

But mostly just anger.

I spent the better part of the day trying to drag myself out of it.

With a bath,

and a book,

and coffee.

Finally I had to get out. She wouldn’t want me moping on such a beautiful day.

We went strawberry picking. And this was our haul.

Some will turn into Strawberry Rhubarb crumble on Wednesday.

Some I will make into Strawberry Jam with local honey.

If that jam sucks, I’ll make the regular sugar filled kind.

It just makes me think about how proud she would be of how I’m eating now.

She died before I could share with her the thrill of eating local and using unconventional methods of making the things we’ve always loved. I wish I could rush right over, after hearing the lids pop on that batch of jam, to share a piece of gluten free toast with the new spread.

We always loved experiencing new things together.

She would be so proud….

Leave a Reply

